PDC World Darts Championship 2024: Big Three Fancied to Dominate

Darts Betting
PDC World Darts Championship 2024: Big Three Fancied to Dominate

The 2024 PDC World Darts Championship will provide a fitting end to the sporting year as 96 of the world’s best players bid to get their hands on the prestigious trophy. 

Michael Smith defeated Michael van Gerwen 7-4 in the 2023 final, but reigning champions have found it difficult to defend the title in recent years. 

Read on as we preview the 2024 PDC World Darts Championship and offer our thoughts on who we believe will lift the trophy on January 3. 


  • In-form Humphries the bookies’ favourite.
  • Price fancied in the second quarter.
  • Take the big three vs the field.

PDC World Darts Championship - Draw

Sixty-four players will go head-to-head in the opening round for the right to face one of the 32 seeds in round two. Here is the second-round line-up: 

Quarter One 

(1) Michael Smith v Kevin Doets/Stowe Buntz 
(32) Madars Razma v Mike De Decker/Dragutin Horvat 
(16) Ross Smith v Niels Zonneveld/Darren Webster 
(17) Chris Dobey v William O'Connor/Bhav Patel 
(8) Rob Cross v Mario Vandenbogaerde/Thibault Tricole 
(25) Jose de Sousa v Ritchie Edhouse/Jeffrey de Graaf 
(9) Jonny Clayton v Steven Lennon/Owen Bates 
(24) Krzysztof Ratajski v Jamie Hughes/David Cameron 

Quarter Two 

(4) Peter Wright v Jim Williams/Norman Madhoo 
(29) Raymond van Barneveld v Radek Szaganski/Marko Kantele 
(13) James Wade v Matt Campbell/Lourence Ilagan 
(20) Andrew Gilding v Christian Kist/Luke Littler 
(5) Gerwyn Price v Connor Scutt/Krzysztof Kciuk 
(28) Brendan Dolan v Mickey Mansell/Xiaochen Zong 
(12) Dirk van Duijvenbode v Keegan Brown/Boris Krcmar 
(21) Gary Anderson v Simon Whitlock/Paolo Nebrida 

Quarter Three 

(2) Michael van Gerwen v Keane Barry/Reynaldo Rivera 
(31) Kim Huybrechts v Richard Veenstra/Ben Robb 
(15) Dimitri Van den Bergh v Dylan Slevin/Florian Hempel 
(18) Stephen Bunting v Ryan Joyce/Alex Spellman 
(7) Danny Noppert v Scott Williams/Haruki Muramatsu 
(26) Martin Schindler v Jermaine Wattimena/Fallon Sherrock 
(10) Damon Heta v Martin Lukeman/Haupai Puha 
(23) Josh Rock v Luke Woodhouse/Berry van Peer 

Quarter Four 

(3) Luke Humphries v Lee Evans/Sandro Eric Sosing 
(30) Callan Rydz v Ricardo Pietreczko/Mikuru Suzuki 
(14) Joe Cullen v Jules van Dongen/Darren Penhall 
(19) Ryan Searle v Ian White/Tomoya Goto 
(6) Nathan Aspinall v Ricky Evans/Simon Adams 
(27) Daryl Gurney v Steve Beaton/Wessel Nijman 
(11) Dave Chisnall v Cameron Menzies/Rusty-Jake Rodriguez 
(22) Gabriel Clemens v Gian van Veen/Man Lok Leung 

PDC World Darts Championship – Preview

The 2024 World Darts Championship at the Alexandra Palace in London is one of the top betting events of the year and the latest edition of the tournament promises to be a thriller. 
The top UK betting sites rate Luke Humphries as the favourite to win the title for the first time in his career and he could be tough to stop given his recent form. 
Humphries has won the World Grand Prix, Grand Slam of Darts and Players Championship over the past couple of months and will fancy his chances of victory at the Ally Pally. 
Gerwyn Price could be dangerous as he bids to be crowned world champion for the second time, although he has landed in a tricky part of the draw. 
Despite this, he looks a good value bet at odds of 6/4 on several new betting sites to win Quarter Two and may well go on and lift the trophy. 
Van Gerwen is another potential winner after just missing out in 2023, while Smith and Gary Anderson should also be competitive. 
However, backing Humphries, Price and Van Gerwen against the field at odds of 5/6 with 10bet looks too good to ignore and should deliver a winning return to punters.

PDC World Darts Championship - Betting Odds

Here are the latest odds for the 2024 World Championship Darts (via 10bet): 

  • Luke Humphries - 3/1 
  • Michael van Gerwen 4/1 
  • Gerwyn Price - 5/1 
  • Michael Smith – 10/1 
  • Gary Anderson - 14/1 
  • Rob Cross – 16/1 
  • Peter Wright - 18/1 
  • Josh Rock – 28/1 
  • Nathan Aspinall - 28/1 
  • Stephen Bunting – 33/1 
  • Dave Chisnall - 40/1 
  • Jonny Clayton – 50/1 
  • James Wade - 50/1 
  • Chris Dobey 50/1 
  • Gian van Veen - 50/1 
  • Luke Littler – 50/1 
  • Dimitri van den Bergh - 66/1 
  • Danny Noppert - 66/1 
  • Dirk van Duijvenbode - 66/1 
  • Damon Heta - 66/1 
  • Ross Smith – 66/1 
  • Joe Cullen – 80/1 
  • Ryan Searle – 80/1 
  • Bar – 125/1 

Betting Offers and Promotions

see more
  • Betting sites
  • Betting News
  • PDC World Darts Championship 2024: Big Three Fancied to Dominate PDC World Darts Championship 2024: Big Three Fancied to Dominate