Guide to the Women’s T20 World Cup

Here is a brief history of the Women's T20 World Cup with the latest edition set to get underway when hosts South Africa take on Sri Lanka on Friday.

cricket icon

The 2023 Women’s T20 World Cup is nearly upon us with the opening match taking place on Friday 10th February and as it draws closer, here is a look at the history of the tournament and what lies in store in this year’s iteration.

When was the first Women’s T20 World Cup?

Organised by the International Cricket Council (ICC), the first ever Women’s T20 World Cup took place in England back in 2009.

It ran for only 11 days and England were crowned champions after beating New Zealand in the tournament’s final.

What is the format?

The first three iterations of the Women’s T20 World Cup featured only eight teams split across two groups with the top two teams in each section advancing to the knockouts, which consisted of semi-finals and a final.

In 2014, however, the number of teams competing was upped to ten and this is still the case heading into the 2023 Women’s T20 World Cup with the nations competing in two groups of five and the top two in each once again advancing to the semi-finals.

Which teams have been most successful at the Women’s T20 World Cup?

Australia are by far the most successful team in the history of the Women’s T20 World Cup, having lifted the trophy in five of the seven tournaments.

They are also defending champions heading into this year’s Women’s T20 World Cup, having beaten India by 85 runs in Melbourne back in 2020.

The other two titles went to England and the West Indies.

Where is the 2023 Women’s T20 World Cup being held?

For the first time ever, South Africa will host the Women’s T20 World Cup this year.

Matches in the tournament will take place at Newlands Cricket Ground in Cape Town, St George’s Park Cricket Ground in Gqeberha and Boland Park in Paarl.

When is the 2023 Women’s T20 World Cup?

The 2023 Women’s T20 World Cup begins in South Africa on Friday, 10th February, 2023 and runs through to Sunday, 26th February, 2023, when the final will be held in Cape Town.

Which players are involved in this year’s Women’s T20 World Cup?

The Women’s T20 World Cup in South Africa will bring together the best and brightest players in the women’s game.

For England, the likes of star all-rounder Nat Sciver, who was nominated for Women’s Cricketer of the Year in 2022, will be involved along with talented off-spinner Charlie Dean.

Experienced batter Smriti Mandhana is one to watch for India, having struck 79 in an iconic win over Australia last year, while West Indies star Hayley Matthews has been there and done it before, winning the 2016 T20 World Cup with her country.

Slow left-armer Inoka Ranaweera will be important for tournament hosts for South Africa, who will have to make do without captain Dane van Niekerk, who has struggled for fitness since breaking her ankle and last played international cricket in September 2021.

Liam Flin is an occasional contributor to the MansionBet Blog. He holds a keen interest football, cricket, cycling and esports. See his insights & tips here.
Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Best Betting Offers